A Moravian Cookie Tea Time!

by Little Yellow Teapot (a tea steeping marvel and occasional contributing author to this e-zine)

Your fave little teapot is here to bring you another great tea time experience, this one featuring Moravian cookies! My humans brought these home along with that new tray, which was the perfect way to serve up these cookies and a hot cup of tea to my humans. (I know, I know, they don’t deserve me…TOOOOT!)

WiT_MoravianCks1

First, what are Moravian cookies? They originated with the members of the Moravian Church, are paper thin, usually spiced, and are said to be related to the German lebkuchen (spiced cookies) that are also popular during the winter holiday season. Their delicate makeup means they are usually sold in a cardboard tube package (like those Pringles potato chips) to keep them intact. These days the cookies are rarely handmade, but to my humans that makes them no less tasty. The ones on the menu for this tea time are the pumpkin spice variety which also have an eggnog quality (possibly due to a bit extra nutmeg?).

So I served up a nice strong black tea with a little milk and sweetener added. I laid out 12 cookies in all – an even dozen as in the Twelve Days of Christmas. And if you’re wondering if my humans liked them, let me just say that they didn’t last long. In fact, nary a crumb was left.

As for that tea, I had to steep up a second potful to get them through to the end of those cookies. TOOOT!

© 2014 A.C. Cargill photos and text

2 thoughts on “A Moravian Cookie Tea Time!”

    1. Your most welcome! We’re all about tea, tea parties, and all around lovely stuff! So your store is a wonderful part of this community as far as we’re concerned.

      Like

We love hearing from you!

